Leg Torture + Healthy Alfredo Sauce!

February 5, 2013 at 4:50 pm 6 comments

Hello hello! I hope this Tuesday has treated you well so far! It’s been a pretty good one over here so far. I feel like this week will go by pretty quickly, thank goodness! I hate weeks that feel like they last foreverrrrrr. Anyway…

Yesterday I decided to skip my morning workout for an extra hour of sleep. It was so amazing! I woke up still feeling full from all the cake and ice cream, plus chips and dip from dinner the night before, so breakfast wasn’t appealing to me at first. After getting ready for the day and having some coffee, I finally decided on two eggs and a pear. I decided at the last minute to spoon some almond butter on the pear slices and OMG…

breakfast

That is a totally delicious combination! Besides the fast that it kind of looks like poop. 😉

This breakfast kept me full all morning, which is usually hard to do. I ate it around 7:00 am and didn’t get the least bit hungry again until 11:30. 4 1/2 hours of fullness?? That’s pretty awesome for me.

After school I knew I needed to workout, so I grabbed my bag and hit the gym. I literally almost pulled right back out of the parking lot when I saw how full it was, but I went in anyway. Then I almost walked back outside when I saw all the people. I decided to just go change into my gym clothes and see if it looked any better when I came out. Well it didn’t, and I really had no idea what I was going to do workout wise. I was heading over the cardio machines when one of my co-workers called my name. He and another co-worker wanted to show me their infamous leg routine that had them sore for days. I had heard about it and thought I could handle it, so I agreed.

MISTAKE.

They put me through an hour of pure torture. Think of 60 single leg squats, walking lunges while carrying two 20lb kettle bells, pressing 300 lbs and going straight to 100lb calf raises, plus more. I mean, I can barely move today because of that workout. I don’t think I have ever worked out my legs that much in one workout. The funny thing is that I fully plan on doing that routine again next Monday. haha

Needles to say, I was pretty tired last night after the gym. The last thing I wanted to do was cook, so I made a quick and simple stir-fry using a bag of frozen veggies and sliced chicken breast.

dinner

Easy, simple, and yummy.

It was definitely an early bedtime kind of night for us. I slept like a ROCK.

This morning, I went to the gym and hopped on the elliptical since I knew running was not an option for these sore legs. 25 minutes later and I switched to the treadmill for some walking to stretch out my legs. Nothing too heavy today.

Breakfast was an extra large bowl of hot pumpkiny oats with peanut butter!

photo 4

**********

It’s been a few weeks, but you may remember seeing this picture from dinner one night.

photo 1

After doing a little recipe research, I came up with an easy and healthy alfredo sauce for pasta, chicken, or whatever you want to put it on! For me, it was spaghetti squash and grilled chicken breast.

Healthy Creamy Alfredo Sauce (serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tbs butter (25 cals)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (20 cals) OR skim milk (45 cals)
  • 3 wedges of laughing cow light garlic and herb cheese (105 cals)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tbs Parmesan cheese (20 cals)

Melt butter in a sauce pan. Add in milk and cheese wedges. Cook until everything is smooth/melted. Add garlic salt, pepper, and Parmesan. Cook on low until creamy, being careful not to burn! Pour over whatever you want and EAT! 

I used the unsweetened vanilla almond milk because that’s all I had at the time. I was a little afraid that the taste would be off, but the vanilla really brought out the sweet flavor of the sauce. Husband approved, so it’s a winner!

The sauce comes out to be about 170 calories total, so if you split it with your husband, boyfriend, girlfriend, grandma, whoever, it’s only 85 calories. (But who’s counting right?) Depending on how many you’re serving, you can double, triple, quadruple, etc. Let me know how you like it!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized.

MIMM [Races, Guns, Wings, & Cupcakes] WIAW Back in Action!!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  February 5, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    mm cheesy goodness. that leg workout does look like torture!

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  February 5, 2013 at 9:39 pm

    how funny, i just made a VERY similar alfredo recipe on Sunday! I tell ya, great minds think a like 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Five Things Friday « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 8, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    […] week. Usually, I’ll get in at least two good runs during the work week, but because of the leg torture from Monday, I’ve been too sore to move. Today was the first day I woke up and felt like I […]

    Reply
  • 4. Erin Rochelle  |  February 11, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    This made me laugh. I’m scared too death of the “leg torture” you are a braver soul than I. I’m glad I’m not the only one that wants to turn around when the parking lot is full. It’s not that I don’t appreciate other people wanting to work out too I just need there to be room for me when I go. Anyway, enjoyed reading some of your recipes and may give some a try. I need to switch up the same old boring stuff here at casa Rochelle.

    Reply
  • […] to feel reeeaally nice. Anyway, after work Chad met me at the gym and we completed the same leg torture from last week. This time, it was a bit easier for me to get through the workout, but poor Chad had […]

    Reply
  • 6. Remember that time I used to blog? | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    […] training is going good! Those leg torture days are still killer, but I can tell I’m getting stronger. Now it’s time to increase […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

