There is so much randomness that I cannot give this post a title…

February 12, 2013 at 5:07 pm 6 comments

How’s that for a captivating title?? 

I am so sad that I had to miss out on the Marvelous in My Monday fun yesterday with Katie. Sometimes it’s just not possible for me to get to the computer. Oh well. Here’s a little bit of what my weekend was like.

Saturday morning I met a group from Team Total Health for a 5 mile run. I’m really liking running with this group because they keep me accountable for my run, plus they make me go fast! haha I made it 5 miles in just under 46 minutes with an average pace of 9:11. Whoop!

Run and Breakfast

Breakfast was ready when I got home thanks to some prep work the night before. Hello overnight oats in a jar!

Later on in the morning we had a special brunch at our church in honor of our organist who is retiring, and after that, I literally laid on the couch all day in my ProCompression socks. It was glorious! While on the couch, I watched three different documentaries.

Spirit of the Marathon

Spiritoffthemarathon_cover

Oh my gosh this movie made me cry. I always get emotional when I watch people finishing races or things that they’ve trained hard for. And now, I want to run the Chicago Marathon so bad!

Hungry for Change

hungry-for-change-300x3001

This one really opened my eyes to all the processed foods (or as they said, “food-like products”) that we eat. It was so informative and I would advise everyone to watch it!

Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

images

This movie made me want to go out and spend hundreds of dollars on a juicer! I never realized how little vegetable we eat, and juicing seems to be the most effective way of getting in all those nutrients. I’m seriously considering buying a cheap-o juicer so I can start adding juices into my diet.

**********

Sunday was a weird day. I was really emotional for some reason? I forgot to bring my apple with me for my pre-church service breakfast and proceeded to cry. I ended up finding a random bag of Teddy Grahams in Chad’s office which made things a little better. At least I had my post-church service breakfast of oats in a jar with me!

After church I had to make a trip to the grocery store. I got everything I needed, got a short check-out line, and had everything bagged. When I went to pay, I noticed that I had forgotten my wallet. I apologized to the cashier, walked out empty handed, and cried in my car for a solid 5 minutes. It was pathetic. haha I know I should have just gotten over it, gone home to get my wallet, and gone back to the store. But like I said, it was an emotional day.

Sunday afternoon, things started to look up. We celebrated my sweet cousin’s 14th birthday with lasagna, wings, chips & hummus, and cake! A lovely mish-mosh of my delicious food!

Dinner

And later that evening, I think you all know what I was doing.

the-walking-dead-eye-for-an-eye-poster

So my emotional Sunday ended on a good note. 🙂

*******

Monday morning, I decided to sleep again and go to the gym after work. Sleeping in on Mondays are starting to feel reeeaally nice. Anyway, after work Chad met me at the gym and we completed the same leg torture from last week. This time, it was a bit easier for me to get through the workout, but poor Chad had it rough. He did it though! I even typed it out on my phone so you guys can try the torture for yourselves! Mwahahaha. 😉

Legs

Next week, I have to go from 3 sets to 4 sets. Not looking forward to that. :/

After the gym and a quick trip to the store (WITH my wallet!), it was time for dinner. Chicken fajitas were on the menu for the night!

fajitas

I eat mine straight from the skillet. No tortillas or extra toppings. It’s just how I like it. 🙂

**********

This morning my legs felt pretty good (though I was worried about being sore from Monday’s workout), so I drove to the gym for a short HIIT workout on the treadmill, along with The Biggest Loser.

run

I went really simple with this one: 5 minute warm-up at a brisk walk, followed by 10 minutes of 30 seconds hard (8.0) and 30 seconds easy (5.5). Then I finished it up with another 5 minute cool down walk and an added one minute sprint (9.0) at the end. It only lasted a little over 20 minutes, but I was a sweaty mess!

Breakfast was a giant bowl of oatmeal with pumpkin butter swirled in and peanut butter on top.

oats

**********

So, now that all of that is out of the way, I have a very important announcement to make!!

As you may know, tomorrow is Ash Wednesday which starts the season of Lent. Usually, you give something up (i.e. soft drinks, candy, meat, etc.), fast, or do something from Ash Wednesday until Easter Sunday to prepare for Holy Week and to commemorate the 40 days that Jesus fasted. Last year, I decided to give up the scale and add in a morning devotion time. This year, I’ve decided to give up something that takes up A LOT of my time. I spend most of my morning before work and most of my time after work doing this. It’s not blogging. It’s reading other blogs. I love love love reading healthy living blogs, and I love finding new blogs to read even more! I’ve realized it takes up way too much of my time, and my Google reader has seriously gotten OOC.

So friends, my promise for this Lent season is to give up reading other blogs/checking my Google reader until Easter, with the exception of Sundays! Sunday is the day that you can “break” your Lent promise, so I’ll be catching up on all my favorite blogs every Sunday. Don’t be surprised if I comment on a post from 5 days ago! 😉 This will also help me get rid of some of the blogs I follow but don’t actually read. They just take up space and time.

I plan on replacing the time spent reading blogs with other productive things, but most importantly prayer and time with God. After all, that’s what this is all about!

And now it’s about time to get started on dinner! We have to get pretty after dinner for church directory pictures, so we’ll see how that goes. 😉

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, Random, Running, Uncategorized.

Plans for the Week 02/10 Lent Day 1 and WIAW

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sortaginger  |  February 12, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    I really loved “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” when I first saw it. I think I am too lazy to make my own juice, but my friends swear by it.

    And I might have to try peanut butter in my oatmeal for a protein kick on my commute.

    Reply
  • 2. Alex @ therunwithin  |  February 12, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    I give you credit. You are making a huge commitment this lent season and I love that you are doing it. You my friend, are amazing. I haven’t seen any of those documentaries but I need to look into them now.

    Reply
  • 3. jessielovestorun  |  February 13, 2013 at 3:35 am

    AS much as I’ll miss your sweet comments, I give you major props for dropping blog reading for lent

    && those oats.. um they look ridiculously good! The food I’m eating right now doesn’t even compare 😦

    Reply
    • 4. Eat Sweat Sing  |  February 13, 2013 at 8:39 am

      It’s day 1 and I already don’t know what to do with myself haha I’ll be looking forward to Sunday all week so I can catch up!

      Reply
  • 5. I Got Socks for Valentine’s Day « Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 15, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    […] dressed for the gym, so I went for another HIIT workout on the treadmill. I did the same one as last time,only I added another 5 minutes of HIIT intervals before cooling down at the […]

    Reply
  • 6. Remember that time I used to blog? | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  March 8, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    […] of a break, it just kind of happened. It seems that when I’m not actually reading other blogs (because of my Lent promise), then I don’t have the motivation to blog myself. But I want to change that. It’s crazy […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

