Remember that time I used to blog?

March 8, 2013 at 4:58 pm 1 comment

Yeah….. so I took a little 4 week hiatus from blogging. I didn’t plan on this long of a break, it just kind of happened. It seems that when I’m not actually reading other blogs (because of my Lent promise), then I don’t have the motivation to blog myself. But I want to change that. It’s crazy how much more time I have now that I don’t obsess over reading through every blog on my reader. I definitely don’t want to go back to constantly reading and adding new blogs after Lent is over, but I do want to continue to blog for myself. I think my plan for after Easter is to go through and only keep the blogs that I’m truly interested in and to hopefully keep that number reasonably low.

Okay enough of that, let’s get to some good stuff. Even though I haven’t been blogging about workouts, food etc, I’ve definitely been busy.

Workouts: 

running

Strength training is going good! Those leg torture days are still killer, but I can tell I’m getting stronger. Now it’s time to increase the weight! I’m really starting to see definition in my arms and shoulders, which is awesome. Now I’m just waiting the those back muscles to catch up. 😉 I’ll work on some progress pictures soon so you can see for yourself!

I’m still training for the RnR Country Music half in Nashville on April 27, so there’s a lot of running happening. Right now, I’m not following a strict training plan. I get in a good long run on Saturdays, and on Tuesdays and Thursdays I’ll do some HIIT on the treadmill for about 20 minutes. The HIIT workouts only get me up to about 2.25 miles which has been okay for now. I ran 8 miles last weekend (in the snow!) and have a 15k race tomorrow. After that, I’m going to start training a little better by doing one HIIT workout a week, one short tempo run, and a long run on the weekend. Hopefully that will get me in tip-top shape for the half! 🙂

Eats:

I’m still eating.

lol I’ve actually had some pretty good meals the past few weeks. Chad mentioned that he had been feeling like we were in a food rut, so I’ve been trying to mix it up a bit with dinner. Here’s a look at what I’ve been creating!

food

  • Philly cheese steak stuffed peppers
  • Taco salad
  • Cheesy chicken and broccoli in a creamy ranch sauce (made in the crockpot)
  • Zucchini “fries”
  • Baked chicken parmesan

I’ll try to get some of these recipes up soon so you can try them for yourself! Well… except for the taco salad, I think you can figure that one out for yourself. 😉

Other:

As far as life goes, I’ve been working hard at school to get ready for our 3rd grade musical in two weeks. We’re doing the cutest show called HATS! And it’s about…… hats. Duh. 😉

I’ve also been preparing for an upcoming audition at our community theater. They’re making my dream come true and doing Les Miserables this summer! Of course there are hundreds and hundreds of people auditioning, so I’m not getting my hopes up at all. I’d be thrilled with any part in this show, but I’ve been preparing for the role of Fantine. Let me tell you something, I Dreamed A Dream is not an easy song to sing! Last weekend I performed the song in a local variety show that our community put on as a fundraiser. It was kind of like a rehearsal for my audition. It wasn’t bad, but it was definitely not as good as I need it to be. My audition is this Sunday, so I’m working hard and practicing to make sure I’m ready! The only down side to auditioning on Sunday is that I’m singing a special in both services at my church. Hopefully the singing wont tire my voice out before the audition. Fingers crossed and prayers are welcome! 🙂

**********

So that’s my life lately. I’m glad to be back in the blogging business again. I definitely missed it! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, Running, Singing and Peforming.

I Got Socks for Valentine’s Day Hills of Torture and Getting Sick

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  March 8, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    I have missed you, no lie. Everything seems like it is working out perfectly for you, I think the balance you found with blogging is probably really refreshing. And boy do those eats look good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

