Hills of Torture and Getting Sick

March 15, 2013 at 9:15 am 1 comment

Well guys, just when I thought I was back in the blog game, I went and got myself sick. Boo. 😦 Sunday afternoon was when the bug/virus hit me, and I wasn’t able to go back to work until Wednesday. So, needless to say I haven’t felt like doing much of anything. It’s been six days, but I’m back again! I’m going to rewind wayyyy back to Saturday because that’s the only day that I actually did anything besides lay on the couch and feel miserable. hah!

I ran the Huff n’ Puff on the Bluff 15k with Team Total Health that morning, and it was SO tough. I thought I was prepared for this race… I was prepared for the mileage, but I was not prepared for the HILLS. This course was seriously 9.3 miles of rolling hills of torture. When I crossed the finish line at 1:31:40, my legs practically gave out, and I just laid on the ground as you can see in the picture below.

HuffnPuff

Don’t be fooled by my smile. I was laughing to keep from crying/vomiting. 😉 I ended up coming in 4th in my age group, missing the 3rd place trophy by 3 minutes. Grrr….. next time! And look, I found my aunt Lisa at the finish line!

Lisa

After the race, a long shower, and some lunch, Chad and I headed out into the woods with some friends from church to do a little shooting.

Shooting1

I tried skeet shooting a little bit but was pretty terrible. I came to the conclusion that I only like to shoot at targets that don’t move.

Shooting2

We were out there for about 5 hours shooting and hanging out. Normally I wouldn’t like being out there for that long, but I really had a lot of fun. I’d do it again! (And Chad rejoices)

Sunday, right around the time I started to get sick, I had my audition for Les Mis! It went pretty well, and now I’m just playing the waiting game. We’ll hopefully have some information about the cast by the end of the month!

Between then and yesterday, I really didn’t do anything because of being sick. I went back to work Wednesday, but I took another rest day from working out. I could tell my body wasn’t ready for that yet. Thursday morning however, I was itching to run! I started off easy with some walking and light running. Then I did a little HIIT for 10 minutes and went back to walking for the last 5-10 minutes. Nothing too crazy, but at least it got me sweating.

Run

This morning I got up and drug Chad to the gym with me. Fridays are usually shoulders and back days, but we decided to do biceps and back so we could get in a little arm strength training too. 

workout

Once again, it’ll be a few days before I check back in here. We’re taking our youth away for the weekend on a retreat at Camp Sumatanga. We’ll be doing team building activities and climbing one of those big towers, so I’m pumped for a weekend of being active and having fun! I’ve also got to get in an 8 miler tomorrow morning. I love running at camp! 🙂

Hopefully I’ll be back to my normal blogging soon, plus I’ve got some recipes I need to share! Anyway, thanks for sticking with me through all this craziness!

Have a great weekend!!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running, Singing and Peforming, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Remember that time I used to blog? Running, Climbing, & Swinging To My Death

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  March 15, 2013 at 10:50 am

    gosh I am sorry you were sick, taking time off is always so tough sometimes. Hopefully you feel better for this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

