Running, Climbing, & Swinging To My Death

March 19, 2013 at 2:56 pm 1 comment

Hello hello, and happy Tuesday! I finally found some time to sit down and write after our youth retreat this past weekend. It was a BLAST! First of all, the weather was amazing! It made being at camp even better. On the morning of our first full day, I got up super early for what was supposed to be an 8 mile run. I only got in 7.5 miles, but I’ll take it. 😉 It was definitely a beautiful run.

20130319-140642.jpg

The main part of the day was spent here…

20130319-140815.jpg

That’s the Alpine Tower. Almost everyone made it to the top, including me! Some kids even climbed 3 or 4 times. After the tower, we did something called The Swing. It’s exactly what it sounds like. Basically, you’re strapped into the harness, and the people on the group actually pull the rope that pulls you into the air… HIGH. Then, you have to let go of the rope that’s keeping you up and swing down to your death. Not really…. It’s pretty scary though. Here I am mid-swing

20130319-141312.jpg

There were also some team building activities that the youth did which were fun to watch. In between all of our fun stuff, Chad lead a few sessions that were focused on leadership. He ended the last session in prayer with all the kids huddled together.

20130319-142040.jpg

Before we left for home the next day, we drove up the mountain to get some group pictures. And a picture of me and Chad of course.

20130319-141723.jpg

It was such a fun weekend! But yesterday it was back to reality when my alarm went off. I was bad and skipped a morning workout, and then realized that I couldn’t go after work because I still had to go grocery shopping. Monday evenings at Walmart are NO FUN. 😦 I was at least able to make a really yummy and healthy dinner last night! Parmesan tilapia, asparagus, and roasted corn.

20130319-142805.jpg

As for today, I forced myself out of bed for an early morning workout. Today it was a speed session on the treadmill. Half a mile warm up, followed by 4×400, and half a mile cool down.

20130319-143221.jpg
It got me to 3 miles, but still not as fast as I’d like. I need to make my fast 400 a bit faster next time!

I’m having hard time staying motivated this week because spring break is next week!! It’s so close that it’s hard to focus on anything else. But our 3rd grade show is this Thursday, so I’ve gotta keep pushing through to make it great! Just 3 more days and I’ll have a little freedom!! 🙂

I’m off to figure out dinner. Remember that time I used to make a meal plan? Have a good one!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, Running, Uncategorized.

Hills of Torture and Getting Sick Recipes To Try

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  March 19, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    I saw on twitter you were doing a ropes course, I love those! I have to say, i always love reading your posts and catch up on your life. I just get so much inspiration from your faith.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

