Skinny Reuben Sandwich

April 4, 2013 at 3:29 pm 1 comment

Hello! Happy Thursday and almost Friday! 🙂

I thought I’d pop in and give you the “recipe” for the reubens I made a few days ago for me and Chad. I say recipe, but seriously it’s just a matter of layering things on bread and throwing it on the skillet. 😉 By substituting light bread for rye, and Walden Farms calorie free dressing for regular thousand island dressing, this sandwich comes out at around 240 calories! The WF dressing was a huge calorie saver, and it was so good. Some WF products are nasty, but the thousand island dressing gets two thumbs up!

Thousandisl

Reuben

Ingredients:

  •  Two slices of low-calorie/light bread (FYI, I normally don’t even eat bread, but for the purposes of this sandwich, I made an exception for the “light” stuff)
  • 1 serving of thinly sliced corned beef (around 90 calories per serving)
  • 1/4 cup of sauerkraut
  • 2 tbs Walden Farms calorie free Thousand Island dressing
  • 1 slice of Swiss cheese

On both slices of bread, spread 1 tbs of thousand island dressing. Layer cheese, corned beef, and sauerkraut on one slice of bread and top with the other slice. Spray a little olive oil cooking spray on each side of the bread and cook in a skillet on medium for about 1-2 minutes on each side. Careful not to burn the bread. EAT UP! 🙂

**********

While you’re here, I’ll fill you in on something that happened yesterday. I mentioned before that I auditioned for the musical Les Miserable that our local theater is doing this summer. Yesterday I got a call about being in the show, but I was going to have to back out of going on our youth’s mission trip this summer if I wanted to commit to the show. The director gave me a few minutes to think and pray about it, and after doing just that, I realized that being with the youth this summer was what God wanted me to do. As much as I want to be in this show, I told him that I was going to have to pass. 😦 He was so understanding, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to audition, but I guess Les Mis just isn’t part of His plan this summer. But, I’m okay with that! It’s such a good feeling when you know you’re following God’s plan, even if you have to do things you don’t want to do. Ultimately you have to remember that His plan is so much better than anything you have in mind.

Have a great rest of the day, and be sure to let me know if you like the reuben!

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes, Singing and Peforming. Tags: , , .

A Little Bit of Everything Countdown to the Weekend

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Weekend Things and Such | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  April 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    […] already waiting on his dinner because he knows that I’m making Reuben sandwiches tonight. The last time I made them he would not stop talking about them. He even told me this morning how excited he was for dinner […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

