What Wednesday

April 17, 2013 at 4:01 pm 5 comments

 

I have lots of WHATs to share with you today. “What I did,” “What I ate,” “What I think,” What I want,” etc…. just be prepared!

What I Did Over the Weekend

I mentioned here that I was going away for the weekend to a women’s conference called Women of Joy. It was held in Sevierville, TN. At the conference there were amazing speakers, powerful worship, and an awesome concert by Jeremy Camp. It was a busy weekend, but I made sure to stick to healthy eating and even squeeze in a 6 mile run on the treadmill Saturday morning! Here are some pictures I took during the trip.

WOJ

What I’ve Been Eating this Week

Meals have been pretty normal around here. After having a bad night of eating on Sunday (maybe I was making up for eating so healthy while I was out of town?? lol), I’ve been making sure to keep my meals as clean as possible!

Food2

  • Breakfast on Monday was an omelet made with 1 egg, 1/2 cup of egg whites, spinach, and low fat mozzarella cheese.
  • Dinner on Monday night was the same broccoli and beef recipe I used HERE, but this time I added red peppers. GREAT decision!
  • Oatmeal for breakfast on Tuesday. If you’re wondering how I make my oatmeal, here’s the official “recipe” I use every single time. 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk, 2 tbs pumpkin, 1/4 cup liquid egg whites, truvia, cinnamon and sf maple syrup to taste, and a big blob tbs of peanut butter. Throughout the process of putting all the ingredients together I microwave it a few times. Oats+milk=30 seconds, add pumpkin=30 seconds, add sweetener+cinnamon=30 seconds, egg whites=45 seconds, stir=45 seconds, syrups+peanut butter=EAT.
  • Tuesday night I was on my own for dinner. I threw a bunch of random things in a skillet with some soy sauce and baked a sweet potato. In the skillet was chicken, brussels sprouts, carrots, and spinach.
  • This morning I had a protein pancake with almond butter and sf syrup.

What Workouts I’ve Done

Like I said, this weekend I was able to fit in a 6 mile run on the hotel treadmill. It was pretty sketchy, but it got the job done. haha

Run2

Yesterday, I went to the gym to do the usual HIIT workout on the treadmill. Short, sweet, and sweaty all before the sun came up!

Run3

This morning, Chad and I did a tricep/chest combo at the gym. No pictures to show for it though…. does that mean it didn’t happen?? 😉

What I’ve Been Thinking

I think we’ve all been thinking about the same thing lately. How could someone be so cowardly to bomb an event like the Boston Marathon? The only good thing that came out of this was seeing and hearing all the news about the first-responders and people helping after the attack. It reassured me of the fact that there are so many good people in this world. Still, as a runner, I feel so close to the people affected by the bombing. I didn’t personally know anyone running the marathon, but I still feel like all of those runners are my friends. It’s something I can’t explain. And the fact that someone made the sport that I love something to fear makes me angry. I don’t think this will stop people from running races though. Actually, I think more people will start running. I’m curious to see the number of people who try to qualify and run Boston next compared to this year. My bet is that number will be much higher. Runners are pretty determined people. I mean come on, we wake up at the crack of dawn everyday to run on purpose. The running spirit is  definitely not broken. If anything, it’s been strengthened. So “good job” BM bomber. Thanks for firing us up to run more and do more good in the world.

What I Want

I want everyone to look at how cute Pierre is when he lays his head on my shoulder.

Pierre

I want summer vacation to hurrrrrrry because I’m ready to sleep in past 4:30 am.

I want to be a faster runner, so I’m trying my first Yasso 800 workout tomorrow morning.

I want to feel properly trained for the Rock n’ Roll Country Music 1/2 Marathon next weekend in Nashville……. After only running 6 miles for last week’s long run, this Saturday’s 12 miler will have to be my ticket to getting there.

I want to stop consuming mys life with all things HEALTH AND FITNESS and focus on putting God first in my life. I know that all the other good things will follow after that. This is something I’m working on, especially after attending the Women of Joy conference this past weekend. Even though this is a health and fitness blog, I don’t want it to be something that defines me… that title is reserved for CHRIST!

I want you all to have a HAPPY WEDNESDAY!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Life, Random, Running, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Pretty Weather = Happy Me! Thursday Thoughts [Problems and Answers]

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  April 17, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Love getting catch ups about your life. don’t stress about your race, you are more than ready to run a half.

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  April 17, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Grace, I just want to tell you that you look incredible! Seriously, all your hard work is paying off 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. di @ life of di.  |  April 18, 2013 at 9:39 am

    Jermey Camp is one of my favorite Christian artists 🙂 I think I have seen him once before in concert. That conference sounds amazing by the way. I think you have a great perspective about keeping God at the center of it all. Whenever we place another idol before him, it’s easy to see how short lived our happiness will be. 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Eat Sweat Sing  |  April 18, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      That is so true! I’m never happier than when I put my relationship with God before everything else.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

