Super Poodle is Ready for the Weekend

April 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm 1 comment

 

First of all, let me say a huge THANK YOU to all the sweet comments and Facebook messages I received after publishing yesterday’s post. It means the world to me that so many people care and are also facing similar situations. We’re all in this together and with God’s help, can overcome all of this!! 🙂

**********

And with that said, HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!

Super Poodle

Super Poodle sure is tired from saving the world all week. We’re both definitely ready for the weekend! I know it’s going to go wayyy too fast though because there’s so much that’s happening.

-Dinner and an opera tonight. My brother is performing in Orfeo!

-Long run in the morning. I’m shooting for 12 miles.

-My nephew’s birthday party tomorrow afternoon in Huntsville. Not sure how long we’ll be there, but I know that by the time we get home, we wont be doing anything else but vegging out on the couch. 😉

-Sunday morning church which is always busy busy busy, but fun!

-Teaching Jr. High girls’ small group Sunday evening. I’ll be doing this for the next three weeks.

-New episode of Game of Thrones Sunday night!! Okay… so that’s not really a big deal to y’all.

Maybe that’s not as busy of a weekend as I thought? I guess I’m just used to doing nothing at all. hah. Seriously, that’s my favorite thing to do on a Saturday after a long run…… NOTHING. 😉

Speaking of running, the Country Music Marathon is NEXT WEEK! Ah! I’m a little nervous, but mostly excited about being part of a big race like this. I’m really looking forward to the expo because I’ve never been to one that had more than one booth. haha As far as my training goes, I added a 3rd weekday run the last two weeks. Just a short 3 or 3.5 miler. I was shooting for 4 miles this past Wednesday, but once again the heat really got to me. It was 85 degrees!

Hot Run

Yesterday morning I actually took my morning speed run outside! It felt way too good to be on the boring treadmill. My plan was to run to the high school track and do 4x400s and run back home. When I got to the track, I noticed all the lights were off. Pair that with a creepy white 15 passenger van parked by the gate and that plan was a no-go. So I kept running and decided to go with a “sprint a block-jog a block” method for about 10 minutes. Then I ran back towards my house. I passed Chad out on a walk right when I hit 2 miles, so I turned around and accompanied him on a 1 mile cool-down walk. It was nice, and the weather was perfect! 🙂

Unlike today, the weather was amazing all day yesterday. It felt so good that we decided to grill out for dinner!

Dinner

Seasoned chicken and asparagus on the grill was perfect! I also roasted some sweet corn on the stove-top.

We were going to eat out on the deck, but that’s about the time that the wind picked up, and we could tell the storm was coming. After dinner Chad left for a youth thing, and cleaned the kitchen and relaxed on the couch until I got tired enough for bed.

**********

I didn’t get a great night of sleep last night partly because of the wind, and partly for reasons I can’t explain. I just kept waking up every few hours. So coffee was a MUST when my alarm went off at 4:30!

I think it helped because I was alert and energized by the time we got to the gym. We worked biceps and shoulder this morning, and I’m seriously feeling it right now. Shoulders. Are. On. Fire.

After strength training, I like to eat a lot of protein which is why I’m obsessed with my 2 ingredient protein pancake! I saw the recipe on Monica’s blog and love it!

Pancake

1 scoop of protein powder (any will do) plus 1/3 cup of egg whites. I also add 2 packets of Truvia and a drop of vanilla, almond, nut extract. It gives it a “cakey” flavor that I love! Of course it’s not a pancake for me without almond butter and syrup!

This breakfast gives me 35-40 grams of protein depending on what powder I use. You can’t beat that!

**********

So before I leave, I want to clarify something. In yesterday’s post I talked about making God the center of my life instead of health and fitness. BUT, this does not mean that I want to completely abandon a healthy lifestyle. Not at all! I want to keep working out because I love it. I just want God to come before exercise. I want to keep eating healthy because those foods nourish my body and make me feel good. Plus I crave those kinds of foods! I just want to make sure that I don’t make healthy eating an idol in my life. God needs to be the focus of my thoughts. Always. I just wanted to put that out there so that people didn’t think I wasn’t trying to change. Because I am. 🙂

**********

Last thing for real this time…. look at this pear I ate at lunch today.

Pear

Does anyone else eat that far into a pear? I really like pears.

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Random, Running, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Thursday Thoughts [Problems and Answers] Weekend Things and Such

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jessielovestorun  |  April 19, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    Woah you have one busy weekend. I’m quite jealous you are heading to Huntsville.. I wanna go, and then I could see visit my brother & aunt/uncle/cousins!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

