Weekend Things and Such

April 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm 4 comments

 

Happy Tuesday! I’m in a strangely good mood right now, and I don’t know why? But hey I’m not complaining!

A lot went down this weekend, and I always mean to do a MIMM post to recap everything, but Mondays have gotten to be so tiring that by the time I get home, I crash and have no energy. I should probably figure out some way to handle that afternoon slump. Coffee is out of the question past noon or I’ll get a major headache. Any suggestions??? Please?

Anyway like I said, this weekend was pretty busy.

Friday night started with Mexican food with Chad, my brother, his girlfriend, and my parents (triple date?).

After stuffing our faces, we drove over to Florence to see the other brother perform as Orfeo in the opera Orfeo ed Euridici. Because of the theater we were in, I wasn’t able to get any pictures of the show, but I did take one with the diva of the night.

drew

Seriously, he was brilliant. I’m so proud of my little bro! 🙂

After the show, I went straight to bed to rest up for Saturday’s 12 miler!

**********

Pre-run breakfast of REAL pancakes, peanut butter, and sf syrup!

pancakes

I ran 12 long and sweaty miles, and the last tenth of a mile was uphill, so that was fun……. but I was happy I finished!

long run

I’m so ready to take on Nashville in the Country Music 1/2 Marathon this weekend!!

I literally had 30 minutes to shower, get dressed, and find something to eat before we were on the road to Huntsville for my nephew’s birthday party. It was super hero themed, complete with food, capes, candy bar (aka Power Surge Station), bouncy house, and trampoline (aka Cape Tester).

party 1

Everything was SO cute, and Grayson looked like he was having a blast!

party 2

It was a busy and tiring day, so when we got home that evening, we crashed pretty quickly.

Sunday was wonderful. I never really take pictures on Sundays because I just want to enjoy the day without worrying about content for the blog. You’ll just have to trust me when I say that Sunday was filled with church services, family lunch, relaxing couch time, small group bible study, and Game of Thrones. Perfect!

**********

So far this week has been laid back. Besides work, the only interesting thing that happened yesterday was grilling turkey burgers for dinner and eating outside on the deck.

dinner outside

I also made sweet potato fries to go along with the burgers. Deeeeeelish.

**********

It’s TAPER WEEK, so this morning I went out for a short and quick HIIT style run. I ran 1/2 a mile, did a sprint/slow jog combo for 1 mile, and ran the last 1/2 a mile back home. All of this happened before 5:15 am. How awesome crazy of me right?

Chad was just leaving the house to go on his walk, so I decided to join him on a 1.5 mile walk around town. I think these walks may become a regular thing. 🙂

dark run

Oatmeal was my breakfast of choice after my super dark run and walk with hubs.

So right now, it’s probably late afternoon/early evening. Chad is more than likely sitting at the kitchen table already waiting on his dinner because he knows that I’m making Reuben sandwiches tonight. The last time I made them he would not stop talking about them. He even told me this morning how excited he was for dinner tonight. Then when I said goodbye as I was leaving work he said “Bye, see you later when we have REUBENS!” hahaha So I better get in the kitchen and at least act like I’m about to start dinner so that he’ll quit drooling and growling at me. 😉

Have a happy happy Tuesday! 🙂

*NOTE* I’m going to try to slowly add more carbs into my diet this week (instead of having on huge carbo load on Friday night) in preperation for the half this weekend. I’ve heard it works better that way. What do you think? Have you heard similar suggestions?

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Food, Running, Singing and Peforming. Tags: , .

Super Poodle is Ready for the Weekend Thursday Thoughts: Getting Ready for the CMM

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristin  |  April 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Done before 5:15? How do you wake up, Superwoman???

    Reply
  • 2. Alex @ therunwithin  |  April 23, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    I think adding more carbs up until the race is the best, or at least it works for me. it makes my stomach less of a rock the day of the race. I really wish I went to that party, so many yummy treats.

    Reply
  • 3. di @ life of di.  |  April 24, 2013 at 6:50 am

    I’m jealous of your early early morning workouts. I am at the gym by 6-615 and I thought that was early!

    Reply
  • 4. jessielovestorun  |  April 24, 2013 at 7:47 am

    I cannot believe your half is already THIS weekend! Gosh it came so quickly.. or at least it seems like it on this end, Ha Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,384 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

