MIMM [Race Weekend in Nashville]

April 29, 2013 at 6:53 pm 9 comments

I’m finally joining in the Marvelous in My Monday party again! It’s been way too long.

I have so much to say and don’t know where to begin! This past weekend was filled with so much marvelous, but there were also a few bumps along the way. Let’s just rewind to Friday when we arrived in Nashville!

We went straight to the convention center for the expo and could not believe all the traffic. Chad never found a place to park and ended up dropping me off and circling around. I had never been to a big race like this before, so the expo was pretty overwhelming. Plus there were people EVERYWHERE. That’s what I get for going on Friday evening, but oh well! I was able to snap a picture of the madness before I left.

Expo

I loved that they were giving out these bracelets too!

Boston bracelet

I pretty much got in and out as quick as possible. I met Chad outside and we made our way to our hotel. We stayed at Hotel Preston just off the interstate. I picked that one because it was close, not sold out (like most other hotels around), and was one of the cheaper choices, though it was definitely not cheap. Our room was nice, but we were only staying for the night so it didn’t really matter.

Hotel

We absolutely did not want to go back towards the downtown area for dinner after dealing with all theΒ  traffic, so we decided to grab dinner at a little Mexican place down the road. We got our usual fajitas but with chicken and beef instead of just chicken.

Dinner 1

Dinner 2

I know this really isn’t the kind of meal to carbo load with, which is why we had a very important stop to make on our way back to the hotel.

donuts

That would be one dozen Dunkin Donuts y’all. Now tell me that’s not the perfect way to carb load! haha We ended up trying a little of all the donuts. My favorites were Boston cream pie and chocolate glazed!

After our donut feast I went straight to bed because our wake-up call was 3:30! I didn’t get the best night’s sleep because I was so anxious, but it wasn’t too bad.

I shot out of bed when my alarm went off and started getting dressed. I made some coffee in the room which was pretty good.

coffee

All dressed and ready to run!!

pre race

I wanted to show my support for Boston, so I chose the only blue and yellow clothes I had.

Entire outfit: Nike tempo shorts, Nike dri-fit tank, and dri-fit long sleeved top, ProCompression socks, Brooks PureFlows, Sparkly Soul headband, and Nike hat.

We left the hotel around 4:30 to park at the finish and take the free shuttles to the start line. At this point, it hadn’t started raining yet. Once the shuttle dropped us off at the start line, the rain came and never stopped. I’ll be honest, I was completely miserable waiting for the race to start. It was cold and pouring down rain. Some people took refuge near McDonalds.

waiting 1

I was chillin’ under a tree near the potties.

waiting 2

FINALLY, after an hour and a half of waiting in the rain, it was time to start! But wait, no it wasn’t, because I was in corral 19 and forgot that it takes about 30 minutes for the last corrals to actual cross the start line. haha By the time we got to the start, I was completely soaked and miserable. I kept thinking, this is going to be the worst race of my life. (The good news is that statement could not have been more wrong. :))

The horn sounded for corral 19 and I was off. I plan on doing a full race recap in my next post, so all I’ll say now is that I absolutely LOVED running in the rain. Yes it was miserable before, but once I got running, it was awesome!

I ended up running the best race of my life so far. I ran the entire thing without music because the cheering crowd and music along the course was giving me all the motivation I needed. This was also my first time running the entire half marathon without stopping. I took zero walking breaks and only slowed down enough to grab water from the volunteers’ hands. I felt so awesome when I finished, and it wasn’t until I looked down at my Garmin that I realized I FREAKIN’ PR’D!!!! My first half marathon time back in October was 2:19:11 and I ran the CMM in 2:14:31! I was ECSTATIC!

after race

After I finished and found Chad, I started feeling the pain. Plus, it was still raining and cold, so that started to effect me as well. We decided that nothing sounded better than just getting in the car and heading home. We stopped at a gas station for a quick change into dry clothes and then made our way back to the house.

We had to figure out a way to dry out our shoes and clothes, so this happened.

drying clothes

We ended up going out for a very early dinner…… like at 4:00. What can I say? I was hungry. Oh! Bryan’s is a local steakhouse that we love! I always get the Cajun blackened chicken with a sweet potato and salad bar.

Oh Bryans dinner

We went home after dinner to watch The Hobbit. We watched it in bed and fell asleep shortly after the movie was over, which was around 8:00. We had been up since 3:30 that morning and didn’t care how “old” we seemed for going to bed that early. πŸ˜‰

**********

All in all, even with all the rain, running the Rock n’ Roll Country Music 1/2 Marathon was one of the best experiences of my life!! And now I can officially cross this off of my “30 Before 30” list!

I can’t wait to write my race recap and tell you all the thoughts that were going through my head! But I’ve got to actually get them all together before I can try to write it all out. So until then, I’m gonna ride out this runners high for as long as I can!

Have a MARVELOUS MONDAY! πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: 30 Before 30, Food, MIMM, Running, Travel, Uncategorized.

Thursday Thoughts: Getting Ready for the CMM Rock n’ Roll Country Music Half Marathon

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  April 29, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    girl – this is AWESOME. I love the Boston colors and give you so much credit for totally kicking butt. way to go! you should be proud

    Reply
    • 2. Eat Sweat Sing  |  April 30, 2013 at 5:44 am

      Thanks! I’m very proud. πŸ™‚ Congrats on your race too! I know you said it wasn’t your best time, but it sounded pretty speedy to me! Besides, who really cares about time when you’re doing something you love AND getting a gift from a hot guy in a tux. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 4. di @ life of di.  |  April 29, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    This is awesome! Congrats on your race- lovd all the pictures and that after race meal looks DELICIOUS!

    Reply
  • 6. Kristin  |  April 29, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    You totally killed it! Congrats on the PR!

    Reply
  • 8. jessielovestorun  |  April 29, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    Grace!!! I am so happy and proud of you for PRing! Good for you darling ❀

    Reply
    • 9. Eat Sweat Sing  |  April 30, 2013 at 5:45 am

      Thank you thank you thank you!! I’m so excited! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

