Thursday Thoughts [A Few Rambles]

May 2, 2013 at 4:06 pm 2 comments

Ever since the Women of Joy Conference and writing this post, I’ve been trying really hard to not let food consume my thoughts. I’ve been praying about this issue a lot more, and I feel like I’m starting to make some progress! I’m trying not to focus on the number of calories, (or even carbs/proteins/fats) and instead I’m focusing on just eating healthy meals. It’s the quality of the food that counts, not the quantity. I know a healthy meal needs to be balanced, so I do try to make sure that each meal has some kind of protein, carb, and healthy fat. But as far as counting and ratios, I’m just not thinking about them. Like I said, I don’t want food to be on my mind all the time. I want to enjoy life without worrying about how the meal I just ate has a few more calories than normal. I want to be able to go to a gathering or out to eat with friends w/o worrying about what kinds of food there will be to choose from.

One other thing about my eating is that for the past 5 years, I’ve been constantly trying to lose weight. I’ll lose a bunch, gain some back, and then try to lose it again. Now that I’m in a place where I’m trying to be comfortable with my body, I need to also try to quit thinking that I should be doing things to lose weight. Sure I’d like to tone up a little more and improve in physical activities (i.e. running), but that doesn’t require any weight-loss. I can tone by continuing to strength train and work out, and I can improve my running by working on things like speed and form. As far as eating goes, I think I just need to cut myself some slack.

Anyway, these are just some thoughts I’ve had recently about the issue. I know it’s just me rambling, but hey, if the rambles help me to work through my problems a little better, then I say ramble on!

Thanks for taking a look into my thoughts. 🙂

Happy Thursday!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Helpful, Life, Thursday Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Rock n’ Roll Country Music Half Marathon Snapshots from the Weekend

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  May 2, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Great thought and rambles, I honestly believe a mindset shift like that is what will make life so much more enjoyable. Hope the conference is going well!

    Reply
  • 2. jessielovestorun  |  May 2, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    I love these type of posts. So much truth, and honesty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

