Small Changes to Help with Weight-Loss

August 1, 2013 at 5:04 pm 1 comment

Exciting news! I’m typing this post on mine and Chad’s new MacBook! We’ve been needing a new laptop for a looong time, and he especially needed one for school (he’s going back to school for a masters of art in youth ministry), so this was a very needed purchase.

Well, it’s Thursday. The week is almost over, and the weekend is getting closer! But it’s sad for me since the end of another week means summer break is that much closer to ending. I’m sad to see summer end, BUT I’m so ready for fall weather especially for running! It’s going to be a crazy fall because of cheerleading though. There’s just so much going on! At least it’s exciting for me since I actually enjoy cheerleading. 🙂

I’m kind of at a loss for writing right now since I decided to save my meals and workouts for Fridays. It’s causing me to actually have to come up with creative topics for the blog. lol I thought that today I’d talk about the little things I’ve been doing to help with my weight-loss/fitness/health goals.

Over the past month, I’ve been:

  • Drinking A LOT of water. I keep my contigo with me at all times and try to make sure I at least drink one full bottle before lunch and two full bottles by dinner. I do let myself have other things at times throughout the day like tea sweetened with splenda, or water mixed with mio, but those drinks don’t count towards my water goal.
  • Tracking everything I eat. I use MyFitnessPal to keep up with every single thing I eat. It keeps me accountable for what I eat! You can add me on MFP if you’d like! GraceKennington
  • Measuring and portioning EVERYTHING. From meats to fruits and veggies to little things like peanut butter and honey. It’s crazy how fast the calories can add up when you don’t measure and watch your portion sizes! I bough a food scale a long time ago at Walmart for like $20, and I use it constantly.
  • Eating MOSTLY clean foods. I try my best to keep the packaged and processed foods out of the house. I don’t do Lean Cuisines, 100 calorie pack snacks, or packaged foods that claim to be “fat free.” Of course I let myself have some processed things, like the International Delight Heath Bar creamer I use in my coffee every morning. It’s like a sweet treat. 🙂
  • Sticking with my workout routine. It can be so easy to slack off a little here and a little there. Before you know it, you’re skipping workouts for days at a time. I just take it a little at a time so that I don’t burn myself out.
  • Meal Planning! This has been a huge help for me. I sit down on Sunday afternoon or even Monday morning and plan out dinners for the next two weeks. Then I make a grocery list, and buy the things I need. It’s actually saved me money and made me a lot less stressed about what to make for dinner. I love browsing Pinterest for new healthy dinner options!

Give these things a try and see if it helps you with your weight-loss efforts! These have been working for me and seem to be easy things to implement into a lifestyle. 🙂

Happy Thursday!

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Helpful.

Recipe: Salmon Patties Five Things Friday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. di @ life of di.  |  August 17, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    1) Jealous of your new Macbook 🙂 I really want one but it’s just not in the budget right now. Maybe when I start teaching…we’ll see 😀 2) I need to start drinking more water. I’ve definitely been doing a better job of drinking more but I still feel a bit too dehydrated at times. 3) I think this is a great list and is definitely beneficial to anyone seeking a bit of help in their weight loss efforts. Pretty soon, these habits start to kick in and become a lifestyle. I love it when that happens because you don’t have to spend as much time focusing on everything you should or want to be doing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

