WHY? WEDNESDAY

August 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm 9 comments

You’ve heard of “What I Ate Wednesday”… well this is “WHY? WEDNESDAY”

WHY…

have I lost any and all motivation to go to the gym??

Chad and I recently skipped 3 workouts in a row and finally went back to the gym this morning. I was still feeling super unmotivated to go, but I thought that maybe if I just forced myself to go this once, it would spark a little more motivation for next time.

Well it was a tough workout because we hadn’t been in a while, so we know now that skipping the “New Rules” workouts will end up making them even harder the next time. There’s a little motivation right there.

WHY…

is running all of a sudden killing my arches and knees??

I knew my PureFlows were getting old, but geez. The pain started last week, and every run seems to be just a little more painful than the last. I’d say I’ve put a little over 300 miles on these shoes, which according to the Brooks website, is more than enough for the PureFlows.

20130828-190204.jpg

I’m thinking about trying Mizuno’s Wave Rider 16, because I wore the 15s to train for my first half and loved them! The only thing I didn’t like was the weight. Compared to my Brooks, the Riders are heavy. But, I heard the 16s are lighter?

I do love the PureFlows though and am eyeing the PF2s (I have the first edition PF). I’m just scared they may not have enough support for marathon training. #FirstWorldProblems

WHY…

do I feel like a parent when I don’t have any kids yet??

Sunday night some of our youth came up to me at our church picnic to ask if they could all come over to swim. Of course I didn’t mind, but having all these teenage boys swimming/screaming/acting crazy at our hosue made me feel like a mom.

20130828-190314.jpg

WHY…

does Pierre feel the need to roll around on a dead animal causing us to have to give him a bath right before bed??

20130828-190419.jpg

Fuzzy little trouble maker.

WHY…

do people not think they should silence their phones while playing games in a quiet doctor’s office??

20130828-190459.jpg

Yesterday. I can’t even.

WHY…

can’t my life just slow down a little??

I feel like my days are going by so fast because of how busy I am, and I can’t get everything done that I’d like to without staying up way past a decent bed time.

I wake up at 4:30 during the week, so if I’m not in the bed by 9:00, it’s bad news. The past few days I’ve stayed up longer than I should, and it’s made getting up in the morning HARD.

WHY…

can I not just be happy with myself?

I’m so tired of trying to be fit and tone and perfect. There are times when I think to myself that life would be better if I stopped the madness and quit worrying about eating healthy, working out, and looking a certain way. Then I look at myself and do the whole “pick apart every imperfection” thing and make myself feel terrible. “How can I stop eating healthy and working out when I look like this?” It’s a vicious cycle you guys.

At the doctor yesterday, the nurse said my weight out loud when I was on the scale, and I teared up when she left the room. How stupid am I??

WHY…

did I decide to wear heels to work today??

MY FEET ARE DEAD.

HAPPY WEDNESDAY!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running.

Friday Fotos (Yes, I know how to spell PHOTO) What I Want When I Want

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krissy  |  August 28, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    I love your honesty in your writing… you’re certainly braver than I am. You are too hard on yourself, though, girl! You’re committed to a healthy lifestyle, but they doesn’t mean a missed workout or “not-perfectly-healthy” meal cancels out all the effort you’ve put in. Keep finding “healthy” balance! Love ya!

    Reply
    • 2. Eat Sweat Sing  |  August 29, 2013 at 8:47 am

      Thank you! Balance is definitely the key word there. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kristin  |  August 28, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    I think you are perfect the way you are, and that has nothing to do with weight or healthy-eating. It has everything to do with how wonderful a person you are!!! Chin up chum!

    Reply
    • 4. Eat Sweat Sing  |  August 29, 2013 at 8:48 am

      You are awesome! Thanks for being the greatest friend ever and putting up with all my crazy food/running talk! haha

      Reply
  • 5. Alex @ therunwithin  |  August 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    oh lady I couldn’t agree more with Kristin, you are perfect the way you are. sometimes when I have these thoughts I make myself stop everything. stop putting pressure on myself and just take a break from everything involving working out and overthinking food. It could be what you need: )

    Reply
    • 6. Eat Sweat Sing  |  August 29, 2013 at 8:50 am

      A break sounds awesome and terrifying at the same time! It’s all about my fear of losing control, but I know you’re right. It might be the best thing I can do for myself right now. Thanks! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Kayla  |  August 28, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    First off… You’re an amazing person and super pretty. Seriously. I love Sundays because I get to laugh and be silly with you (and Rick too haha)!
    Believe it or not, I understand the obsession of exercise/being healthy. It’s really okay to be conscious of what you eat and your physical activity. There’s nothing wrong with that 🙂
    Just remember this.. God has a purpose for you and a reason for everything. He even gives us challenges so we remember to seek guidance through Him. He will always bring peace whenever you need it.
    You’re an inspiration to me. Really you are!! 🙂 love ya!

    Reply
    • 8. Eat Sweat Sing  |  August 29, 2013 at 8:54 am

      I LOVE YOU! Seriously, Sunday Funday is the highlight of my week. 🙂
      I sometimes forget to take things like this to God because I think they’re not important. But it’s comforting to know that He wants us to have peace and will heal ANY kind of pain we’re feeling… even if it’s emotional pain from feeling fat. hahaha! 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Nan  |  August 29, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    I love your blog! And that you are my daughter’s cheer coach!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

