What I Want When I Want

August 30, 2013 at 5:39 pm 1 comment

First, thank you to my friends who commented on Wednesday’s post! You’re encouraging words helped more than you know! 🙂 I want to talk a little more about my feelings on that issue, but first here’s a little randomness from yesterday.

**********

Yesterday morning I went out for a run. I usually only run 3 miles on a weekday morning (because that’s all the time I have before work), but this morning I did 4! My marathon training plan is starting to call for longer weekday runs, so I’m trying to make sure I get up early enough to do some longer runs before work.

RUN

Since my Pure Flows seem to be giving my feet and joints some problems, I decided to pull out my Brooks Ravenna’s. I bought them a half size too small over a year ago, and didn’t realize it until it was too late to return them. So I’ve only run a few miles in them. I knew that they would be a little tight, but I hoped they would help my arches and knees not hurt during the run. They did a pretty good job! I felt good during most of the run, aside from them being a little tight. I know I wont be able to keep training in them, but hopefully they can get me through a few runs until I buy new shoes.

**********

I’m still thinking on the comments from Wednesday and trying to figure out exactly what I’m going to do to help myself.

The first thing I need to do is quit worrying so much and just give it up to God. It’s funny how easily I forget to take things to Him. He wants us to have peace and enjoy life, so why wouldn’t we take every little problem to Him for help and guidance? It’s comforting to know that all I have to do is ask, and He will provide! 🙂

I really loved Alex’s advice to take a break from fitness and over-thinking my food. I don’t want to completely break away from exercise though, because I still plan on running the marathon in December. So, I definitely need to keep up my training, but I am trying to ease up at the gym.

My weekly workouts usually look like this:

  • Monday- Strength
  • Tuesday- Run
  • Wednesday- Strength
  • Thursday- Run
  • Friday- Strength
  • Saturday- Run
  • Sunday- Rest

I’ve been pretty motivated to run with the marathon looming over my head, but getting to the gym has been a little harder. Then, when I miss a workout, I feel like I’ve hurt my chances at getting stronger/burning fat/toning/etc. So, Chad and I decided to cut our strength training down to 2 days a week, and I’m going to use the other day to do another run since I’m loving my runs lately. Hopefully it will keep me from feeling burnt out with the gym AND help with marathon training.

As far as food, I know that I need to stop counting calories again. I did this about a year ago with a week-long challenge that ended up lasting almost a year.  Then over the summer, I gained some weight because of vacations and travels. I decided to count my calories again in hopes of fitting back into my pants. lol It went well for a few weeks, but then the food stress and binging thoughts came back full force, thus leading to all the negative thoughts.

I’ve been reading about ways to let go of the “diet” mentality, and all roads lead to eating what you want when you want. It sounds pretty unhealthy at first because basically I’m saying that if I want cookies all day every day, then I can eat them. It sounds like I’m going to gain a ton of weight that way. It’s kind of scary, but the health professionals that promote this way of eating as a recovery tool say that it only takes a few days or weeks before you don’t even want those “bad” foods anymore. They’re no longer off limits, so they wont send you into an eating frenzy after one bite. If you can have any food any time you want, then you don’t worry about eating it all before you go back on your diet the next day. BECAUSE THERE IS NO DIET… There’s just eating food when you’re hungry. Or even just eating a cookie when you want it.

I’m going to give this a try and see what happens. I know that I need to stick with it for at least a few weeks before trying something different. But, I’m hoping that this works. I just want to live a life that’s healthy, but not a life that’s revolved around food and exercise.

Thanks for sticking with me through all my crazy thoughts. I know it seems insane to still be dealing with things like this after all the years. But that’s exactly why I’m still dealing with it… it’s been years of different methods of dieting and restriction with a few months of normal eating thrown in. It takes a while to reverse what I’ve done to my body and brain.

**********

We have our first football game tonight at home, so Chad and I are planning on our usual Friday night Casa dinner date before heading to the game!

HAPPY FRIDAY!!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life, Random, Running, Uncategorized.

WHY? WEDNESDAY It’s Hard

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Alex @ therunwithin  |  August 30, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    I love your thoughts around this. Maybe a good option to start is give yourself like an a or b. you know what I mean? Like strength or rest day. or maybe strength or mini circuit. so you have like a less intense but something to keep you from feeling guilty? i don’t know. maybe you just need an extended break. I normally do a full week or two of rest like once or twice a year. My mind and body needs it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other followers

Fitness Training Log

Follow Me On Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog

