Jack – One Month

September 13, 2015 at 6:59 pm 1 comment

  

Jack is ONE MONTH OLD!

  

I can’t believe how fast this month has gone! Being a mom has been the most challenging, exciting, and best experience of my life. It’s amazing the love I have for this little stinker!

  

The first 2 weeks are kind of a blur. All he wanted to do was eat, sleep, and eat some more… and of course pee and poop. He would have a few moments where he was awake and alert, but then he would cry to eat or to be rocked to sleep. We expected that, but it didn’t make those nights where he insisted on eating every hour any easier! 

On the subject of eating, I always knew I wanted to breastfeed Jack. The benifits of breast milk were amazing, and I wanted to have that bonding time with him. Luckily, BF came fairly easy for us. He didn’t have the best latch, which caused some soreness, but other than that, everything went well.

  

Back to those hourly feedings…. there were times during those first two weeks where I felt (quite literally) drained! It felt like all I was doing was nursing or holding him while he slept. He loves sleeping on mine and Chad’s chest, and how can we resist all that cuddle time?! 

  

    
    
 

I was BF on-demand, and his eating schedule changed a lot, so for the first two weeks we didn’t really go anywhere. I was okay with that because all I wanted to do after coming home from the hospital was rest. I may not have slept every time Jack slept (during the day), but even just being able to lay back on the couch helped me to rest.

At Jack’s one week check-up we got some great news… He weighed 8lbs 13oz, which was more than his birthweight! The goal for most babies is to be back at their birthweight by two weeks. So this was very exciting for us and assured me that I was giving him all that he needed with breastfeeding! I had worried that I wasn’t making enough milk for him, but boy was I wrong! haha

He did not like laying on the table at the doctor’s office!  

 

At his two week check-up we were very surprised to find out that he gained more weight and was 9lbs 9oz! Wow, never again will I doubt my ability to feed him! lol At this appointment, the pediatrician checked him all over and told us that he was in the 75th percentile for weight, and the 95th percentile for height (21 & 3/4 in.) and head circumference. Not to brag (just kidding, I am totally bragging!), but the doctor was so impressed with Jack’s growth and said that he was perfect! That made this mamma SO happy! 🙂 

Because he was doing so well and gaining weight, we were told that we didn’t have to wake him up to eat at night anymore. Before this, we were having to make sure he was eating every 3 hours at night. Ironically, that very night he was up about every hour to eat. haha! After that, he started sleeping a little better waking up around 1:30 a.m. to eat. We usually put him down for the night around 10 or 10:30, and he wakes up about 1:30 a.m. to eat and then again around 5:00 a.m. After that, he’s back on a 2 to 2 & 1/2 eating schedule for the day. 

By week’s 3 and 4, Jack started staying awake more during the day. Sometimes he stayed awake the entire time between feedings, sometimes he’s awake for half of that time and asleep for the other half, and sometimes he sleeps the entire time between feedings. We just let him do what he needs to do, although those awake times are some of my favorites! 

We play on the activity mat,

   
   
Have tummy time on the mat or the Boppy,

   
    
   
Or sometimes we just sit around and have photo shoots!

   
    
    
    
    
   
We occasionally go for walks around the neighborhood, but it’s been so hot the last few weeks and I don’t want Jack getting too hot. We had great weather yesterday and today though!

   
   
When Jack was just a few days old, we noticed that he smiled and laughed a lot in his sleep. It was the most precious thing ever!

   
 

Now that he’s a month old, he’s giving us real smiles while he’s awake! THAT is the best thing ever! I’ve tried to capture some pictures and videos of the smiles, but that’s easier said than done.

   
 

    

Well I think I’ve said enough about this guy for now. lol! What can I say, I’m a bit obsessed with him! I can’t wait to watch him grow and learn more. 

Check back here for more updates!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Jackson (Jack) Mills Kennington: Birth Story Jack – 2 and 3 Months

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kristin  |  September 13, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    😍😍😍 Happy One Month Jack!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other subscribers
Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog