DIY T-shirt to Racerback

February 18, 2012 at 7:52 pm 4 comments

I was feeling a little crafty tonight and came across this picture on Pinterest.

Unfortunately, the link leads to absolutely nothing. Boo. So I thought I’d just give it a try on my own! So here we go!

Start out with an old t-shirt. (stretchy ones work best)

Don’t laugh. I’ve had this shirt for a while and wore it when I played Martha Cox in a production of High School Musical. Don’t laugh at that either.

Then, measure and draw out the lines for where you want to cut on the back.

Then, make sure you put marks on the front so that the end points are even. But, the front lines that you draw need to be closer to the edges so that you cover up the essentials. πŸ˜‰

Next, make cut along the lines. Here’s the front cut out…

And here’s the back…

Now, you can leave it as it, or you can do what I did and cut some strips from the extra fabric to cinch the back up a little bit. Here’s what it’ll look like.

And there you have it! It really wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be, and now I have a new workout tank for the gym!

I’m probably going to be doing this to a few other shirts I have!

Hope this post helps! Have fun crafting! πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Crafts.

Friday Recap New Kicks = Fun Running

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. New Kicks = Fun Running | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  February 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    […] Sweat, Sing Skip to content HomeAboutRecipesWeight-Loss ← DIY T-shirt to Racerback February 19, 2012 · 2:58 pm ↓ Jump to […]

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica Simpson  |  February 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Does it work with regular t-shirts too or just the stretchy ones? I have a TON of shirts from UNA events, swim meets, etc and could turn some into tanks…

    Reply
  • 3. gkennington  |  February 22, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I haven’t tried it yet with a regular cotton t-shirt, but I’ve got one that I’ll be trying out soon. I’ll let you know how it works out! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • […] tie dye shirt makes for a beautiful racerback shirt. It’s lovely in the hot weather and as a workout shirt, if you need one. It also gives an old […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other subscribers
Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog