I have two words…

March 26, 2012 at 10:07 am 6 comments

SPRING BREAK!!!!!!

Alright, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, I can continue. 😉

Yes, it’s my spring break both at Tuscumbia City Schools (where I teach) and at UNA (where I take graduate classes). It’s amazing that it worked out this way, because for at least the past five years their spring breaks have been different.

I have lots of plans for this week, but before I get into those, let me fill you in on the things that went down over the weekend!

Chad came home Friday afternoon, and we immediately went out on a little dinner date. He suggested Olive Garden and it sounded good to me!

Taking sneaky pics with my phone 😉

There was a meal on the menu that I had never tried before and was supposed to be one of the healthiest dinner options. It was the Venetian Apricot Chicken and was around 400 calories for the dinner portion. It was fabulous!

Chicken breasts, asparagus, broccoli, and tomatoes in an apricot sauce.

In celebration of Chad’s return, we stopped at Walmart to get a few things that we absolutely positively NEEDED for life to continue.

yeeeaaah...

Saturday we slept in as usual, and then I tried my first ever batch of protein pancakes that I found at Meals and Moves. The only difference is that I used lean chocolate protein powder instead of regular vanilla.

Drizzled on top is a bit of “peanut butter sauce” that I made by thinning out my PB2. Chad used regular syrup and really loved these! The recipe made 3 servings so I froze the rest and plan on having them again tomorrow or Wednesday morning.

I did a little running before lunch, and then we met up with some friends later on that day to see The Hunger Games, which was a fantastic movie! Of course, the book is better, but this was one of the best “book-turned-movie” that I’ve ever seen! (Harry Potter is amazing as well, but they do leave out SO MANY details.)

Sunday was as relaxing as ever. We had a wonderful service at church. My whole family (plus Suzanne, who is practically already family) went out for lunch. We actually went to Olive Garden, and I ordered the exact same thing. hah! We enjoyed a little sun by the pool. (I got my first sunburn!)

I tried my very first Larabar.

I’m not going to lie. I thought it was gross. 😦 I really wanted to like it though!

I also watched some high school kids play duck duck goose.

And I obviously went home that night and decided I needed to stuff my face with…. everything.

Foods I ate last night include but are not limited to: Ice cream, sweet potatoes, various types of nut butter, almonds, fruit loops, and 3 cookies. Don’t worry though, I didn’t vomit. 😉 I did however wake up this morning not feeling hungry at all. I had two cups of coffee and just decided to eat a Luna bar for breakfast. Nothing sounded good, not even a smoothie. I also didn’t go to the gym this morning because, well, it’s SPRING BREAK and I’m not waking up at 5 am! I am still continuing the NROLFA though, so I’m probably going around 11 so that I can have a good lunch when I get home to refuel me!

After lunch, me, Chad, Drew, and Suzanne are going grocery shopping for food and things for our trip to Mobile this week! We’re leaving Wednesday and plan on driving from Mobile to Gulf Shores on Thursday to go to the beach for the day. Friday is the singing competition that Drew and I are competing in, so that will be a busy day. Then on Saturday, we’re coming back home. Not a very long vacay, but at least we get a day at the beach! I’m pretty excited, and now that I have my “pre-beach” sunburn, maybe I wont get too badly burned down there.

I’ve got to get some errands and house stuff done before my workout, so I’ve got to wrap this up! Have a great Monday everyone!! 🙂

Entry filed under: Diet and Exercise, Life.

Thursday Things What You’ve Missed

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. janetha g (@janeeetha)  |  March 26, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I got my first sunburn on Saturday! Except only on my shoulders because I was wearing a wide-neck sweatshirt, haha. Thanks for the shout out and have a great week!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy  |  March 27, 2012 at 10:49 am

    I don’t care for Larabars either! LUNA bars are much better.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachelle R.M.  |  March 27, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your Lara Bar! I love them & they’re a bit of a splurge (plus you can easily make your own at home). Blueberry Muffin isn’t their best flavor :/

    Enjoy your spring break!

    Reply
  • 4. Surprise from FedEx! | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  April 16, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    […] I hope everyone had a great weekend! Mine was pretty good and filled with a mixture of relaxing and work. Saturday I had nothing to do, so Chad and I lounged around most of the morning and then went out to do some shopping after lunch. We ended up getting dinner at Olive Garden where I’ve been LOVING their Venetian Apricot Chicken! […]

    Reply
  • […] I have two words… @ Eat, Sweat, Sing […]

    Reply
  • 6. WIAW: Sensible Snacking | Eat, Sweat, Sing  |  June 6, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    […] I can’t wait to try it! But I hope that it’s better than the last time I had a Larabar. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Hello, I'm Grace! I'm a 24 year old living in a small town in Alabama. I'm married and have the most amazing job teaching music to elementary students. I blog about healthy eating, exercising, running, and the random things that happen in my life. I've recently completed my second half marathon and can't wait to pursue that 26.2!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,383 other subscribers
Fitness Training Log
Follow Me on Pinterest
Health, Diet & Nutrition Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Fitness Blog